Plagiarism

Image

Now, I don’t really know why I wanted to write this, but basically, as some of you (if anyone is actually reading this, of course!!) may have seen, this week, I was plagiarised for the third time.

It’s not a major issue, I know, and it’s all been resolved now, but I don’t think plagiarists quite realise how upsetting stealing someone else’s work is for a writer. To see your work, something you’ve put a lot of thought, effort and time into, copied and pasted carelessly into another site, where the person is now claiming full credit for it really hurts. It really hurts. My writing is so personal to me, that to see someone else saying that it’s theirs is a little bit heartbreaking.

So maybe I’m just writing this so that anyone out there who ever might consider plagiarising any work might realise that it’s not just an easy way to gain fans. You’ll most likely get found out, and your work will be deleted. It could go further, if the person you’ve plagiarised from takes legal action. And the time and effort you’ve put in to choosing a story to steal could be much better spent working on a piece of your own. No one starts out amazingly, we all develop and grow. But by stealing someone else’s work, you’re robbing yourself of that chance.

Rant over.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Plagiarism

  1. Geri

    I am not a member of the site, but I am a sucker for romantic stories. I have been reading yours, but yes, you’re right, plagiarism is pretty low. I’m a designer and it’s happened to me. I didn’t have to go any further than getting Deviant Art to remove the work, but it felt horrible. In some ways, I think if it wasn’t good, they wouldn’t steal it, so it gives me some sort of, you know, what’s the word for it? On the other hand, it’s upsetting because some dingbat has gone and tried to pass my hard work off as their own.

    ❤ Don't let them get to you,
    Geri.

    • Aww, thank you so much for the comment! I’m glad you agree with me. It’s horrible when people do it, and I just wish they’d have more consideration- the last person to plagiarise me had a horrible attitude and actually had the nerve to accuse me of plagiarism, which makes me think that they actually did it on purpose to upset me, which is sad. It makes me sad to think that people have nothing better to do with their lives, really! Hope you have better luck and don’t get plagiarised again, and thank you sooo much for the comment, it means a lot 🙂

  2. MADDIE!!! I didn’t know you were on wordpress too!!! I was just about to leave you a message (I’m leaving Booksie on an indefinite, maybe permanent break) and I realised you had a BLOG so I’m gonna talk to you here.
    I’m sorry you were plagiarised, but I seriously admire how calmly you handle it. I was seriously amazed that when everyone was blaming booksie for its sucky security, you didn’t. I just hope you are okay! (: xoxo

    • Aww I am! I’ve just been over to your blog, I didn’t realise you had it either! I’ve replied to you on Booksie, but seriously, I completely understand. I’ve been in a similar situation with how I feel about posting too, and to be honest, Bookie does sometimes get me down with the way it’s all so dead and sometimes the comments you get can be kind of ungrateful and make me wonder if it’s worth it. I’ve decided to continue posting, in the end, but yes, I can really understand your feelings on this! Awww, that’s very sweet of you. I honestly don’t blame Booksie- plagiarism happens ALL OVER the internet, seems there’s nothing we can do 😦 but thank you so much! I’m fine, thank you! I hope you’re okay too 🙂

Leave a Reply

